Calendar Card Organizer

On May25 (note the calendar), the boys and I went to the teacher store and got this calendar and weather set for our school room. It came with a bunch of number cards, weather cards, and celebration cards. And yes, it is a hot and cloudy day today in North Texas.

calendar-1.jpg

I looked at all the cards and thought, “What am I supposed to do with these?” It took me a few minutes to remember that I know how to sew and this weekend, I made this.

calendar-2.jpg

I cut a square piece of stabilizer, then made a fabric pocket for it and bound the top. I got the vinyl from wallieworld, but had to stop in the middle of my project when on a practice piece, the vinyl kept sticking to my presser foot. Why didn’t I anticipate this happening? Well, Sue from Threads came to my rescue! My walking foot did the trick, but Sue had so many other great suggestions as well, like lengthening the stitch so that the vinyl doesn’t perforate and putting some fray check where I back stitched. Here’s a close up of the vinyl. Thank you for your help, Sue!

calendar-3.jpg

This weekend, I also got to do some sewing machine looking – not shopping, but looking. There are some amazing machines out there and hopefully I’ll be going back when their sale starts in early June.

16 thoughts on “Calendar Card Organizer

  1. That is very cool. I sewed with vinyl once … many years ago and gave up! It was dreaded! I may have to try again.

    I am interested in Bagaholics … I will be emailing you!

  2. My sister got the same weather chart from Marlain’s store! Actually I bought it for her, and a calendar, they love it.

    I love what you did for the cards, that is pretty nifty!! You are so creative! It’s cute too!

  3. Last week I got out my old blue classroom pocket chart for Keely and thought, “Hmmm, I think I’ll make a prettier one soon!” You beat me to it! Yours looks really wonderful. Nice job.

  4. I love it, it is very clever. I’m glad you mentioned where you got the vinyl and how to work with it. I did a project this weekend that I wanted clear pockets… now I know how!

  5. Ok, miss creativity, that is so cute. I love this kind of stuff. In a way I can’t wait to go back to work so I can do such fun things. In the States the teacher stores are so cool. I just love the pockets you made. I’m going to try my hand at some vinyl sewing soon. I thought I would give it a try with a bag. Hmm that’s not out of character at all, right?

  6. ack! i wrote something then forgot to push publish! doh!

    i was going to say i need something like that as an award chart. jerrett could put a little something into the pockets if he brushes his teeth, eats all his dinner, etc. then at the end of the week he gets what’s in the pocket! wheels are turning!!

  7. Reminds me of my teaching days. I love what you made to hold the cards….very resourceful of you. I can just picture the boys using it and loving it….what a sweet time in life this is around your house!

  8. Nice job! But I have to admit when you asked “what am I supposed to do with these?” I thought you meant the cards that said cold and snow. Being a fellow Texan, south of ya, I know HOT is the only one you will need to AWHILE! 😉

Leave a comment