Sewing seeds, skirts, pincushions and bags.

Me: Hi Sweetie!  Can you hold this for mommy?  <click>

Me:  What is it?

N: Shorts!  <click>

Me: What a good boy!   Can I have the shorts back before Daddy sees what I did?

ruffle-skirt.JPG

No, my son isn’t actually wearing the skirt, but doesn’t it look much nicer with some pudgy legs sticking out the bottom?  I made this skirt for Sewing Seeds using Rebecca’s tiered-skirt tutorial now posted here.  There isn’t a better reason to force me to sew a skirt than for a little girl living in an orphanage in Kenya, I believe.  Even though this is considered an easy skirt, it took me a while.  I’m seriously clothes-sewing challenged, you know.

My 16 allergy shots in one day ordeal went fine, although my arms were pretty sore.  In addition to mindless hours of reading magazines and watching TV, which I actually got sick of, I finished several pincushions.  None of these in the picture are here anymore.  Each of them went out to friends across the country today. 

pincushionbowls.JPG

And another stashbusting bag.  My friend Lizzie, who has an eye for color helped me put these fabrics together.  Thanks, Lizzie!

 

stripey-bag2.JPG

My leather straps are 1/2″ wide saddle strings from www.tandyleather.com.  They are 48″ long and I cut them in half to make two 24″ long purse straps.  I buy them by the dozen, which saves on shipping.  I’ve listed some in my shop before and might be pursuaded to do so again if you just want to try 1 or 2. 

40 thoughts on “Sewing seeds, skirts, pincushions and bags.

  1. I’ve been meaning to make that skirt since Rebecca posted it last year. Maybe this year Lily will finally get one.
    Love the stripy bag! So, so cute. I’ve never tried leather straps before. That’s something I may look into.

  2. Love, love, love the bag!! Can you sew through that leather with your standard machine? I’ve been wanting to do leather straps for ages but I worry my machine couldn’t handle it!!

  3. Love your bags! I had forgotten about Tandy – glad you posted the link. And I hadn’t heard of the Sewing Seeds yet so I headed on over and will be joining in on the skirt making.

  4. The bag is delicious, and the skirt has turned out really cute.

    With the bag I love the fabric, and how the box shape gives it a chic, professional look. The leather just sets the whole thing off beautifully.

    I would definitely buy leather straps from your Etsy shop.

  5. Hi, I’ve been looking around your blog and I love all your purses and fun stuff. I’m also into sewing all sorts of bags, they are just addictive… I’ll be back 🙂 (love the little guy with the skirt…)

  6. That’s a great skirt! As a mom of 3 1/2 boys I don’t foresee needing to sew many of those either lol. Still drooling over your lovely bags!

  7. Love the skirt, even with boy legs peeping out~:) That about cracked me up! The pincushions and bag are darling. It’s weird. You MADE pincushions, and you WERE a pincushion with all those shots!

  8. Very pretty skirt! Thanks for the link to that project…I’m on board. Sewing skirts are pretty easy for me…no patterns needed. I am purse-sewing challenged so we all have our specialties! Love your new bag. 🙂

  9. I’ve signed up for Sewing Seeds too, but have been putting it off as I’ve not made clothes for years – you’ve inspired me, yours looks lovely so I am going to get started later!

  10. Such a cute cute cute skirt (one cute for each tier!)! I have that on my list to make for my girls once I get a tad more proficient with my sewing machine. Lovely blog you have here!

  11. Nice skirt, I am sure it will be loved by some little girl. Very nice bag, the leather strapps are agreat idea and the pin cushions are very cute. You have been a busy girl.

  12. Lindiepindie the skirt is so cute. One is sooooo wonderful of a number. Don’t worry if others make more, we who are sewing challenged are doing great to get one or two done. I am still working on mine!

    Remember it is equal sacrifice not equal giving.

  13. I love the skirt. It totally looks like he’s wearing it! What a hoot. He’s a good sport.

    Great pin cushions and stash-busting bag.

    I need to start on my Sewing Seeds skirt, too.

    Hope your arms are feeling better.

  14. I love having friends that are one step ahead of me. I printed that tutorial out some time ago and it has continued to beg to be made. I just bought some seersucker summer fabric at Jo-Ann’s last week to make one. Mine will go to Leil but what a great cause you’re contributing to.

  15. Love the skirt with the little legs!!! I had to laugh that sounds sooooo much like my husband.
    I don’t envy those allergy shots, but now it’s over. Cute pincushions. And yes Tandy Leather for the straps, why didn’t I think of that (They have an actual store not far from my house).

  16. Your son is just going to love you for taking that photo when he’s older. We have a group at church who make skirts for children in need around the world ( they make trousers too.) I really should het involved now I have my very own sewing machine.

  17. I love the skirt and the bag! 16 shots in one day! Wow, I hope that works. We’ve been miserable with allergies here but I just keep taking the drugs.

  18. I forgot to mention that I would definitely be interested in a couple straps if I can use my regular machine. I’ve never tried leather but really want to.

  19. Pingback: Frog Barn » Tiered Skirt

  20. Hello would you mind sharing which blog platform you’re using?
    I’m planning to start my own blog in the near future but I’m having a tough time selecting between BlogEngine/Wordpress/B2evolution and Drupal.
    The reason I ask is because your design and style seems different then most blogs and I’m looking for something
    completely unique. P.S Sorry for getting off-topic but I had to ask!

Leave a comment