Wooden Spools

I made a couple of Patchfolios.  One’s for Melanie at Above All Fabric.  Fabric is Amy Butler’s Nigella with Michael Miller’s Apple Garden Pindot.

Patchfolios

 

I liked setting up this little photo shoot.  The little spools are from a trip that Cindy and I took to First Monday Trade Days in Canton, Texas last year.  I had told Cindy that I wanted to find some old wooden spools of thread.  When she spotted some in a booth, she came and told me that they were a $1 each.  Eventually I found my way to the booth and asked how much they were and was told “50 cents.”  Well  now, I think I’ve stumbled onto a bargaining technique that I will use in my future flea market trips!  Take a friend, my friends.

wooden spools

 

This was such a memorable trip for so many reasons.  Let’s see – it was a girl’s day out which happens so rarely.  Then, since it was the end of the summer it was incredibly hot.  I spent as much moolah on heat-survival gear as I did on my little purchases.  There was the 32- ounce lemonade that I had to buy because I was dying of thirst and my water just wasn’t cutting it.  Then there was the diaper gel-filled neck wrap in John Deere fabric – not so pretty, but an incredible life saver until I started finding gel all over my neck.  By the end of the day a migraine had started.  I came home, kissed my boys that I hadn’t seen all day, took some drugs and a shower and went to bed.  This flea market was featured in Country Living.  And while it was a lot of fun digging through old stuff, I couldn’t help wondering where the cool Country Living booths were!  I, of course, forgot my camera, but Cindy took some nice pictures that give you a feel for the place here.

I also made a car organizer that is now in the product testing phase.  Huge thanks to my friend Lizzie for driving around with it in her car!  I’m going to send one more out for some testing.  Then in a couple of weeks I’ll need some test-sewers.  I think I’ll need 2 experienced sewers to tackle it for the first round and then I’d like a couple of newbie sewers to give it a try after the first round of revisions is done.  Let me know if you’re interested!  Thanks for your generous test-sewing offers!  I’ll be emailing you soon!

25 thoughts on “Wooden Spools

  1. I’d consider myself a newbie-ish sewer, and would be very excited and happy to test out a car organizer pattern! I desperately need one for my new minivan… the plastic bags just aren’t making a fashion statement! Thanks for considering me, and thanks for working up a pattern. Great idea, and much needed.

  2. Oh yes, I’m interested in being a test sewer (but I am in Australia)! Let me know if you need me. The patchfolio is gorgeous – aren’t those Amy Butler fabrics superb!

  3. Oh yes, I’m interested in being a test sewer (but I am in Australia)! Let me know if you need me. The patchfolio is gorgeous – aren’t those Amy Butler fabrics superb!

  4. I’m a newbie-ish sewer too (I’ve only been sewing about a year and a half), but I’d love to give it a throw for ya! I’m learning how to read patterns too, usually I’m a fly by the seat of my pants kinda gal lol.

  5. I would love to test sew your car organizer. I have a Caravan and 5 kids and organization is a top priority. Now, if I could just get the kids to see it that way.:-) I enjoy reading your blog and seeing all of the great ideas you come up with. Take care, Cory

  6. I’d be interested in being a test sewer as well. Not sure where I fall in the “experience” catagory. I’m by no means an accomplished sewer, but can follow pattern fairly well and even alter to suit my needs. My van is a Town and Country and with 4 kids (all girls age 7, 6 and twins 18 mo old) I need some organization!!!

    First time commenting, but I’ve followed your blog for a few months now and absolutely love your style and ideas. Especially about shaving fuzzies, I had a sweater I was going to get rid of, but now it is back in my closet minus the aged haziness it had aquired.

  7. I would LOVE to test sew your organizer! I have a Caravan with 3 incredibly messy children (3,5,7). Your organizers are sooo cool. I am more on the experienced side of sewing. It would be so fun to try your pattern.

  8. I LOVE Canton as well! We outside Dallas and make it to Canton as much as possible. I just love digging through all the stuff/junk!
    I am with you on the hotness! It makes me sweat just thinking about it!
    Love the notebook….:)

  9. let me know I am super new to sewing. Well truthfully sewing things that work. Just finished my first jumper for my little girl, the first functional thing. Go Me! Let me know if you need me.

  10. Hi…been following your blog for a few months now, I just have to say I love your ideas, fabric choices, and blogging. I’m not a blogger myself, but enjoy reading other gals “life stuff”. I would love to be a test sewer…I am a newbie to sewing, but I’m definatley an addict now LOL 🙂 I have 4 kids and drive a Ford Expedition (a.k.a. gas hog). I’ve been trying to come up w/ an organizer myself, but just can’t get it right. Let me know…I’de love to be a part!

  11. I would love to test sew! I have a Toyota Sienna mini van, and I’m on the go constantly! I’m probably a middle of the road sewer. I do mostly quilts, but dabble in bags. Love reading your blog!
    b.

  12. I love the new Patchfolio!
    Why haven’t I tried one of those yet?
    It’s been a long time since I lived in Texas. I’d fogotten about how hot the summers were!

  13. What are you going to do with the spools? I have some from grandparents and I love them but am never sure how to display them or what to do with them! Look forward to seeing what you come up with.

  14. I love the spools.
    When I was a little girl, my grandfather made a toy out of old wooden spools for me. He hammered 4 small nails into the top of one spool and made a “strickliesl”. With a little of yarn and a crochet hook a little girl could knit a cord on it. I loved this.

Leave a comment