Shazaaam!

I’m not the world’s fastest quilter by any means, but it really doesn’t get much easier than this:

1 yard of fabric for the front
1 yard of fabric for the back
1 yard of batting for the inside
free motion quilt with some meandering stitches
bind with 3/4 yard of fabric

Add a teddy bear to up the cuteness factor. 

 Jacob's quilt 2

Mix together and Shazaaaam! – a quilt for a little boy that should be joining us any day now.

Jacob's quilt1

I use a stitch regulator foot on my machine, but it’s possible to free-motion quilt without one. There’s a link to free-motion quilting that might help here.  Be sure to read the comments below the answer for some tips on whether or not to lower your feed dogs.

This can be done in an evening.  And I am someone who rarely gets anything done from start to finish in an evening.  The fabric is Kitty Yoshida’s City Girl from Benartex.  I really like this fabric – so much so that I considered purchasing some of the floral prints by the bolt – but thus far have exercised the necessary self control.  I even made a seamstress apron from it:

Seamstress Apron

and then proceeded to poke a hole in it with my seam ripper during the photo shoot. *sigh* At least it isn’t a noticeable hole and will still make an adequate shop sample one day.

33 thoughts on “Shazaaam!

  1. You make it sound so darn easy! And thank you for that link – I don’t have a regulator foot for my machine, but I admit I would like to try this, just have to find the right material.

  2. I love the colour combinations in that blanket – lucky boy and the apron fabric is delicious too! I can see why you want to buy the whole bolt. Too bad about the seam ripe…but then it is a good excuse to keep it for yourself.

  3. Great inspiration. I’ve been thinking of making my cousin’s son something for his birthdya. This quick and easy quilt is great. I love the colors in yours.

    Take care,
    Lisa

  4. I just found your blog…adding another to the list of favorites! That quilt sounds perfect and simple. I will have to give it a try when cooler weather returns.

  5. Looks great! I haven’t opened an account with Benartex yet, though one of my reps does sell for them. 🙂 Hmmmm…am I ready for that expansion?!?!? Maybe I should borrow some of your self control.

  6. both the quilt and the sewing apron are lovely.. sorry about your incident with the seam ripper… but at least it was the apron and not yourself… I’d probably gravely injur myself if I actually learned to sew… I’m dangerous ehough with beading tools, and paint brushes… I actually dunked my paint brush in my coffee the other day.. then forgot and picked the coffee up and had a sip…mmmmm acrylic…

  7. It’s gorgeous. Your evenings must last a lot longer than mine do, though… Maybe if I gave away the kids and moved to the arctic circle I could do this on a summer evening.

  8. Hi! I’ve been lurking (so creepy sounding!) on your blog for sometime now but wanted to say that I too made a dress similar to this and after I slipped it on I thought it was atrocious. But for whatever reason, I was determined to make this dress work and I had recently bought a belt that is supposed to be above your waist/below your chest (read:high) and I put that on and now it is so chic and mod looking.

    Anyhow, just wanted to say that as a beginner sewer I enjoy reading your blog and seeing your tutorials!

  9. I am working on a quilt with the same fabric (just blogged about it!!) and I love it as well! I haven’t worked up the nerve to actually quilt it yet…

  10. I bought this EXACT pattern, had the exact same thoughts, and am now using it in two ways: cut three sizes smaller than they think I should wear, and cut on the size they recommend but worn as a maternity dress. I’ve found I almost always take two-three sizes below what their measurements tell me I should take–and I recently read that the “bust” measurement should be taken at the TOP of the bust, i.e. under the armpits, and THAT measurement used to find your size. Since I tend to be a little top-heavy, this works better for me, since I can accommodate my boobage but still see that I have a waist (when I’m not pregnant for the third time, that is…).

    Happy sewing! You do SUCH cute things–don’t give up on clothes!

  11. Pingback: Fast and fabulous baby quilt · Needlework News @ CraftGossip

Leave a comment