Tutorial: Cutting Curves with a Rotary Cutter

Ever since I got my first rotary cutter I’ve thought it was THE most brilliant invention in sewing.  I mean, cutting with scissors is okay, but you have to lift the fabric to fit the blade under and since we all know fabric is fickle, lifting it off the surface can make it hard to cut straight.

If you want *perfect* fabric squares, there’s nothing better than a rotary cutter.  No lifting, no fabric distortion, everything comes out perfectly . . . except when it comes to curves.  For the longest time, I couldn’t figure out a way to cut curves.  I tried a little itty bitty rotary cutter,
 

mini cutter

but it was so tedious and it didn’t always come out right.  Plus the blade wasn’t wide enough to use with a ruler.  And moving a big ruler around  a curve?  Very awkward and no fun!

Enter this little baby, my Omnigrid 6″ x 1″ ruler:

mini ruler

It’s perfect for cutting curves – so easy to maneuver. And since there’s no way to do a picture tutorial, I’m trying something new to me – a video!

 

Originally uploaded by craftapple
 
 

 

 

It takes some practice, and if you get really good, you can forgo drawing on the fabric and just cut around pattern pieces without cutting into them!

As with all my tutorials, this method may not work for you, or maybe you’ve been doing it this way forever.  But just in case you haven’t, I wanted to share and hope you enjoy!

45 thoughts on “Tutorial: Cutting Curves with a Rotary Cutter

  1. Wow, I have always thought it would be nice to figure out how to cut curves with a rotary. The little ruler was just added to my wish-list. It would have been great for the projects I did the last few days (including one of your patterns.)

    Thanks so much for sharing!

  2. I’m impressed – to be honest I don’t think I have the manual control you have to keep the ruler in line AND cute all the way through the fabric the first time. I’ll give it a try though – Thanks.

  3. actually caught you on craftzine and had a little celebrity spotting moment…i was all “wait! i know her!” and then i realized, no, i actually don’t. sometimes webreality taps you on the shoulder at the oddest times….

  4. Very cool. I usually just free hand it, but it is slow and not super accurate. Next time, I’ll try it your way. Thank you for taking the time to make the video!

  5. This is great! I have had one of those little rulers and have been wondering why forever. Now it has a purpose! I’m going to have to try this out soon. Thanks for sharing such a great tip!

  6. Pingback: Video tutorial: Cutting curves with a rotary cutter · Needlework News @ CraftGossip

  7. Pingback: Video Tutorial: Cutting curves with a rotary cutter · Sewing @ CraftGossip

  8. Wow, thanks for sharing your video – I would never have thought to use my rotary cutter for cutting out patterns, I’m going to go buy a small ruler and give it a go!

  9. A friend linked to your blog, and I found this post – absolutely brilliant! Thank you so much for sharing. I’ll definitely have to keep this in mind in the future.

  10. Pingback: I wanna be like everyone else «

  11. Thanks for the great demo! Cutting a straight line is hard enough and I never would have been brave enough to try a curve without this.

  12. Excellent! We were talking on the phone about how one might do it. A ruler didnt enter the conversation, Thanks so much,

  13. Phil Hewett
    February 9th, 2015 15:28

    Why use the ruler…why not just free hand it. It seems there is as much room for the ruler to move and there is to not stay precisely on the curve.
    I cut my curves with significant accuracy without the ruler. As you say though “…this method may not work for you…” Thank you for the video, it is very interesting.

  14. Do you mind if I quote a few of your posts as long as I provide credit and
    sources back to your weblog? My website is in the exact
    same area of interest as yours and my users would really benefit from
    a lot of the information you provide here. Please let
    me know if this okay with you. Appreciate it!

Leave a comment