Mom, can you hold my money?

With 3 boys wanting to take their hard earned cash to the store to spend it on Legos, I, the mother, inevitably end up carrying the cash in my purse.  And, inevitably, we are at the check out lane and I’m asking the kids who brought $12 and who brought $19 and who’s wad of 20 $1 bills is this?  When that gets all settled, guess who ends up carrying the change home?  And when we get home, the change is all mixed up.  The kids are wanting their money and I, the mother,  who really should be more on top of these things, am trying to figure out who should get what change.  Enter the Mom-can-you-hold-my-money? pouch.

money pouch

This baby has 3 separate compartments inside, keeping each kiddo’s money separated.  Verrrry nice for Mom’s sanity.

money pouch

This red faux leather zipper pouch I did not make.  I picked it up in Taiwan last summer for 50 NT$.  That’s about $1.75 US dollars.  Now, I love handmade, I really do, but (and don’t get mad at me) I couldn’t pass up this pouch.  In fact, I picked up 5 of them, thinking I could add a handmade twist to them for Christmas gifts (didn’t happen).

money pouch

So the pockets slip inside the pouch.  I will be slipping in a little piece of paper into each pocket, each with a boy’s name on it.  I will also aspire to be that mom that looks all organized in the checkout lane, handing out money, willingly accepting the change, all the while smiling, chatting with the kids, and the cashier, surrounded by an air of calm, joy, and serenity.  Yep, that’ll be me.  All because of this little pouch.

11 thoughts on “Mom, can you hold my money?

  1. Lol… Had fun just imagining!!! lol…
    Well, I think one day I’ll need to come back here to this post and look for the pattern in your store for my two kids! lol…

  2. What a great idea!

    I made my kids little coin pouches a while back and they spend hours putting any random change they find in and out. I supoose I should let them know that they could actually spend some of that money one day soon…

  3. Well we all love handmade, but sometimes these things are just too good to pass up! I used to put my children’s money in ziploc baggies. Effective but not nearly as cute as your pouch! This might be an excuse for a trip to Taiwan…..

  4. I suggest a trip to Taiwan for all of us, so we can get these cute purses! We ease on the “Dave “Ramsey” envelope system here, and have thought that I need something like this myself, but really don’t want to make it….

Leave a comment