This And That

A few days ago, someone mentioned a wall pocket to me.  I had never heard of one before, but a quick search led me to PBTeen‘s pocket board system.  Beautiful!  And certainly doable.  So even though there were several things on my list of things to do, this project went straight to the top.

wall-pocket.JPG

I like how it turned out, but I think I’d like to try some with more pockets.  Inside is a 12×12″ corkboard, and in case anyone is wondering, yes, my machine sews through corkboard without skipping stitches!  Lots of fun to make, I can’t wait to try some more.

I was also able to finally finish the living room cushions I’ve been making.  The fabric is from Amy Butler’s Forest line.  It is so pretty and goes great with the blue and green theme I have going in there.  And we finally got curtains up!  The living room is just how I want it (except for the toys everywhere). It feels so nice for it to have a finished feeling!

forest-cushions.JPG

  

living-room.JPG

25 Responses to “This And That”


  1. 1 Rosa September 19, 2006 at 5:51 pm

    Clever organization idea. I can’t wait to see what you make out of that lovely apple fabric. I see some purse handles–perhaps, a handbag?

  2. 2 lera September 19, 2006 at 6:02 pm

    the wall pocket is a great idea. yours is very cute.

    and your pillows turned out nicely! love that fabric!

  3. 3 Susan September 19, 2006 at 6:20 pm

    Lov the wall pocket. My 9yr old would love it. Can you post a tutorial or let us know where to get a pettern?
    Susan

  4. 4 Elizabeth k September 19, 2006 at 6:44 pm

    That is a very cute wall pocket. I have no idea if my sewing machine could sew through cork…I’d be afraid to try! But if it was made like a big pocket in the bag the cork part could just be slipped inside.

    Now I want to make one!

  5. 5 kirsten September 19, 2006 at 6:58 pm

    cute! you have to check out sally’s version: http://shimandsons.typepad.com

  6. 6 Sarah September 19, 2006 at 7:16 pm

    Wow thank you – the wall pockets are inspiring. I doubt you read my blog but I mentioned this on mine recently just couldn’t had my head around what I wanted – this style is perfect. Thank you.

  7. 7 capello September 19, 2006 at 7:58 pm

    I love your wallpocket. Yet, I kinda hate you for having such an awesome sewing machine.

    And the pillows came out so lovely, all nice and centered and perfect!

    And you’ve got lots of good goodies there lady, so much fun!

  8. 8 Karyn September 19, 2006 at 8:22 pm

    That wallpocket is absolutely gorgous AND useful! What a great idea.

  9. 9 Lori September 19, 2006 at 9:20 pm

    Great wallpocket and love your pillows. Your living room is so pretty.

  10. 10 Randi September 20, 2006 at 8:33 am

    Linda,

    You really have to stop being so creative! You are starting to make me feel bad! 😉

    The wall pocket is so cute and I love that apple fabric. Your models are quite adorable too!

  11. 11 rebecca September 20, 2006 at 8:40 am

    I can’t believe your machine can sew through corkboard. I would be afraid to even try, I cringe when I break a needle! Hey your ideas are awesome and so is your fabric! Love, love, love the pillows.

  12. 12 Ali September 20, 2006 at 12:33 pm

    Your cushions look lovely in your living room!

    And I cannot believe your sewing machine is such a he-man – cool pocket.

  13. 13 Natalie Joy September 20, 2006 at 7:46 pm

    Love the wall pocket and the pillows. I’m sure your living room looks great. Do you get your Amy Butler fabric from any national chain stores or only online?

  14. 14 Cindi September 21, 2006 at 8:29 am

    I love your living room. That fabric is yummy! I can’t wait to see what you do with the apple fabric. Maybe you need a new apron!

  15. 15 Lori September 21, 2006 at 8:31 am

    You are so crafty!! I’m glad you liked you swap package. We just got back from a late summer beach vacation. I did some knitting. I still haven’t opened my new machine. I’m so intimidated! Silly me!

  16. 16 Cathy September 21, 2006 at 10:00 am

    Can I borrow your sewing machine? Like, for the rest of its natural life?

    The pocket board and pillows are great. Isn’t it great when a room finally comes together and you actually like it?!

  17. 17 Monica September 21, 2006 at 2:02 pm

    I really like your living room. Can’t see any toys either…

    And good idea that wall pocket of yours… At this rate my new house will be full of stolen ideas from everyone. I’ll be done for plagiarism!

  18. 18 kerry September 21, 2006 at 4:34 pm

    You are so creative, how do you find the time.
    Love the pillows, your room looks great.
    Did you find that circle ruler?

  19. 19 Debbie September 21, 2006 at 7:19 pm

    Love the wallpocket. Those would be super teacher gifts for a teacher to hang in the classroom. So many great fabrics to use and would definitely come in handy.

    They would also be great for your boys to organize their school work and display the good stuff.

    Lots of potential. Love it. Thanks for sharing.

    And the Bernina sews through corkboard?!!??? You brave one for trying! Love that machine.

    Living room looks so inviting!

  20. 20 quenna September 21, 2006 at 11:14 pm

    Someone has been busy!! That Bernina is one strong lady🙂 Anyways, I love the wall pocket; it would be so nice over a work area and thank you for the notebook cover tutorial (nice pics and clear directions).

  21. 21 weirdbunny September 22, 2006 at 3:46 pm

    I’m going to make a wall pocket! What a brilliant idea for by my chair where I do my sewing. I can then pop in all the bits and peices in stead of them constatly falling off the arm of the chair!

  22. 22 claire September 8, 2007 at 5:24 pm

    I’m definitely going to make some of these, one for me and one each for my two boys. YOur tutorial is excellent, I’ll be following it for sure.


  1. 1 Corkboard/Wall Pocket Tutorial « Craft Apple Trackback on October 25, 2006 at 4:53 pm
  2. 2 craftapple.com Blog » Blog Archive » Corkboard/Wall Pocket Tutorial Trackback on August 10, 2007 at 11:51 pm
  3. 3 Cushions! « Craft Apple Trackback on November 26, 2010 at 1:48 pm

Leave a Reply

Craft Apple

An apple a day keeps the doctor away, right? Well, crafting is my apple. It's what I do to maintain my sanity while taking care of my family. I homeschool my three boys, ages 12, 13, and 14), am a quilter, a bagaholic, and a pattern designer.
© 2006-2015 Craft Apple Creations

Archives