Let’s Go Fly a Kite

I had a fantastic idea a few months ago.  I wanted to make crime scene quilts of my kids.  So we went to the fabric store and each of the boys picked out fabric.  I got 1 1/2 yards of each, had them lay down on it and I traced out their outline with a Sharpie.  Well, soon after that is when I realized that it was going to be a lot of work – maybe not such a fantastic idea after all.  I don’t really enjoy quilting anything bigger than a baby quilt.  But what do you do with fabric that is covered with Sharpie marks?  Make a kite for the boys! 

kite-2.jpg

This pattern is from Creative Living, a book from a line of Rowan books.  The pattern itself was fine, requiring some things I don’t normally work with, like dowels

kite-3s.jpg

 and grommets.

 kite-4s.jpg

I also had to get creative to make the ribbons on the tail hang correctly, but overall it was a great thing for the boys, especially since I have a hard time finding things to sew for them.

kite-1.jpg

 Now we’re all just waiting for a windy day and I’m really hoping that it flies.

36 thoughts on “Let’s Go Fly a Kite

  1. That is too cool! I love it. The colors are amazing. And let me just share that my ds goes everywhere with his Superman PJs. It is too funny! We’ll go to Home Depot and everyone will say, “Hey Superman!” He eats it up. Great idea.

  2. The entire time I was reading this post I kept singing that “Let’s Go Fly a Kite” from Marry Poppins. The kite looks awesome. I love that Dick and Jane fabric. It’s better than those plastic kites.

  3. Love that! DJ and I made a kite a few months ago with straws and paper, but it wasn’t windy enough to fly it that day…and then you can guess what happened to the paper after he had his hands on it for a while. The kite is no longer. Maybe we can try a fabric one next time.

  4. Well who ever said you couldn’t change your mind and try something else new. The original idea sounded interesting but your kites look fabulous. That’ll be so much fun to fly too. Great idea.

  5. Superman flying a homemade kite. Nothing is better than that. Well, unless it’s a crime-scene quilt. 🙂 (That’s a great idea, too. I would have loved to have seen that, too.)

  6. Your kites are awesome! I just updated my blog, and I mentioned your artist drawing case. I’m going to highlight tuts on my blog. Thanks for all the time you put in to teaching the rest of us!

  7. What a cheerful project, just looking at it from my Michigan vantage point is enjoyable. Kite flying is unfortunately a season or two away here. Good luck with the wind.

    It would be a great wall hanging for your boys room between flights.

  8. Pingback: >Magical finds | Rogue Bubble

  9. Dear CraftApple!
    I love the pic with the kite on the grass! I am contacting you to ask about the licens – can I use it on my webpage in Denmark??

    Best,
    Kristine

Leave a comment