Obsessed

I have been obsessed lately.  Obsessed with making something.  And now I’ve made about 20 of them.  It all started when a friend of mine asked me to come to a mom and daughter’s group and do a little sewing craft.  (I’m not sure if she reads this blog, but if so, Hi Sarah!!!)  I tried to think of something small and easy.  Something that would be fun for new and experienced sewers.  Something that we could do cheaply.  After a couple days of deep thought, I came up with an idea.  I even started dreaming about it in my sleep.  Then in my craziness, I thought I’d put together a pattern.  Well, what I thought would be easy turned into this big project.  The pattern went to the top of the list of crafty things to get done and here I am with a new pattern and a bunch of new pincushions. 

picushion cover1.jpg

So my latest pattern is called:  Pincushions!  In this pattern are the instructions to make The Tufted Square,

tufted -final.jpg

the Rice Bowl

the Petit Four,

pettifores-s.JPG

and the Delightfully Round Cupcake (see top picture) that when poked strategically with pins can look very much like an alien

or two. 🙂

alien3.jpg

These footed baking cups are so fun!  Thanks for posting about them, Joanna!

Pattern is in the shop.

35 Responses to “Obsessed”


  1. 1 Vicki W August 27, 2007 at 5:39 pm

    that was a good obsession – those are cute!

  2. 2 TC August 27, 2007 at 6:24 pm

    Mucho cute-o! My kids just keep oo-ing and ah-ing over the one you gave me.🙂

  3. 3 Doodlebug Gail August 27, 2007 at 8:12 pm

    OMG those are cute! Great job. Love your Blog – your tutorials are so self-explanatory, thanks for all your hard work and willingness to share.

  4. 4 Elaine August 27, 2007 at 9:19 pm

    How cute! I had to send the link to my friend who LOVES food, lol.

  5. 5 kathy August 28, 2007 at 12:27 am

    Congratulations on getting a new pattern out! The Petit Fours are too cute.

    I love and use my rice bowl pincushion daily. It’s reserved for my favorite hand sewing needles so I can keep them separate from all the needles I don’t like. My favorite thing about it is the weight of the rice bowl as the base. It always stays put and is small enough it’s easy to move around and fit where I need it.

  6. 6 macati August 28, 2007 at 3:44 am

    hi!
    my first time commenting here!
    these pincushions are so cute… love the one with feet and the alien! the question is: do I have the courage to pin them?🙂
    manela

  7. 7 Sue B August 28, 2007 at 3:47 am

    oh my gosh I love them all! That little alien one is way too cute and the cupcake with the feet – what a hoot!

  8. 8 Mary August 28, 2007 at 5:49 am

    They are just too cute! Love the aliens!

  9. 9 Denise August 28, 2007 at 6:07 am

    I would say not an obsession but an inspiration! Very cute.

  10. 11 lera August 28, 2007 at 10:39 am

    Those are GREAT, Linda!!! I love them … ALL of them!

  11. 12 sarahk August 28, 2007 at 2:05 pm

    They all look great, I’ll add thej to my list of things I want to make!

  12. 13 katie August 28, 2007 at 2:14 pm

    Oh my goodness, is that a great idea! They look good enough to eat.

  13. 14 Melanie August 28, 2007 at 3:45 pm

    Those are soo sweet. I bought a fabric on Ebay yesterday with small multicoloured dots on. My idea is to team this up with a stripey fabric and make a cup cake with 100s and 1000s on the top. Your bag was fantastic too. I’m so glad I’m not the only one who struggles with getting my ideas onto fabric and off paper. Thank you.

  14. 15 Cindi August 28, 2007 at 4:41 pm

    How cool! You are just the most creative person. You could also do them in different themes to use to decorate with, not just for pincushions. Why stop at pincushions? LOL!

  15. 16 alisonmc August 28, 2007 at 4:45 pm

    Oh my God having cuteness induced palpitations. They are very cute – you clever thing you!

  16. 17 SugarShop (Dena) August 28, 2007 at 9:39 pm

    Soooo darn cute! What a fun idea!!

  17. 18 Beth August 28, 2007 at 10:39 pm

    That’s funny – I just finished up a pincushion tonight. But, mine doesn’t look nearly as cute as yours. In fact, it looks a bit like a Barbie doll ottoman! 🙂 You did a great job with these!

  18. 19 randomrevelations August 29, 2007 at 8:11 am

    You don’t have to tell me about obsessions. May I please order the shredded coconut cupcake, please? Yum. The girls are obsessed with the cupcakes in the sewing room. Don’t ask me why I’m commenting while I should be packing. See you soon!

  19. 20 sammyjo August 29, 2007 at 8:44 am

    i love the oin cution and the alian is really cute lol

  20. 21 Dee Light August 29, 2007 at 2:54 pm

    I am in love!!! Those are just the cutes little things ever!!!

  21. 22 CrossView August 30, 2007 at 10:41 am

    Adorable!
    Now if only I could sew…..

  22. 23 Antelope August 30, 2007 at 11:16 am

    Wow, I am highly impressed with your creativity! Your pin cushions are very cute. =)

  23. 25 jcserendipity August 30, 2007 at 10:41 pm

    Oh my gosh, those cupcakes are adorable! I saw them over on Fish in My Hair and just had to check out the rest. Thank you by the way for influencing TC’s blogging career. Her blog has kept me going on more than one “iffy” homeschooling days.

  24. 26 Dawn August 31, 2007 at 5:48 pm

    Ditto on seeing them on TC’s blog. Very very cute. Since I see you do tutorials I was wondering if I could bug you with a question. Is it possible to do the smocking (I think that is what it is called) like at the top of sundresses with just a regular machine and if so could you point me in a direction with info on how to do it?
    Thanks. Love your blog

  25. 27 Carla August 31, 2007 at 7:44 pm

    Those are so cute! I got your diaper bag pattern. I’m just waiting for the right material to make it out of.

  26. 28 macati September 1, 2007 at 4:09 pm

    hi!
    now that I’m starting with sewing (and my real first project is a tote for supermarket shopping) this is a great idea! than you!🙂
    manela

  27. 29 macati September 1, 2007 at 4:09 pm

    hi!
    now that I’m starting with sewing (and my real first project is a tote for supermarket shopping) this is a great idea! than you!🙂
    manela

  28. 30 speckle September 2, 2007 at 9:42 am

    Those are so cute!

  29. 31 Karyn September 2, 2007 at 5:46 pm

    Linda!!!! Your pincushions are amazing. I love the cupcake ones!! Way too cute!

  30. 32 Shelly September 3, 2007 at 8:11 pm

    I do love all of your pincushions. You’re so creative!!!!

  31. 33 Christina.B September 4, 2007 at 8:24 pm

    Just LUV those pincushions! they are so yummi lookin.


  1. 1 Craft Apple Speaks « Craft Apple Trackback on December 7, 2007 at 11:49 am
  2. 2 Sewing Tip: Sewing Curves « Craft Apple Trackback on October 5, 2010 at 1:35 am

Leave a Reply

Craft Apple

An apple a day keeps the doctor away, right? Well, crafting is my apple. It's what I do to maintain my sanity while taking care of my family. I homeschool my three boys, ages 12, 13, and 14), am a quilter, a bagaholic, and a pattern designer.
© 2006-2015 Craft Apple Creations

Archives