Travel Diaries: Taipei Traffic

I have this memory from when my sister and I were kids.  We used to play in the street in front of our house and when a car would turn onto the street we’d move out of the way.  At some point we turned this into a game (Mom, I’m quite sure we never told you about this part).  We would dare eachother to touch the car as it drove by.  I remember the thrill of getting my fingers on the moving car or if I was really gutsy, putting my foot up and touching the car with my shoe.  Yes, it’s a stupid and crazy dangerous game for kids to be playing.  Thankfully we were never hurt.

Well, before we came back this time I was wondering how on earth we were able to get close enough to the car to touch it.  I had forgotten how tight some of the roads are here.  Here are the boys lugging our groceries back from the grocery store:

Groceries in a cart 

Here is a similar street with a car driving down it. 

 Tight squeeze

See how close those people are to the moving car and how unphased they are?  C’mon, touch the car – just stick your foot out and touch it.  I dare you!   A big lesson my kids are learning on this trip is how to dodge traffic.  For the most part it hasn’t been too dangerous, but it’s enough to make a mom worry about her American kids.

And you want to see an amazing parking job? 

Mini

I’m pretty sure the motorcycles parked after the Cooper was parked, but still, imagine getting out of a spot like this.

11 thoughts on “Travel Diaries: Taipei Traffic

  1. Wow! Yep, playing in/around traffic like that is not really that big of a deal in Asian cities, is it? We live in Indonesia and it is much the same here, although where we live we are WAY out in the boonies. I guess I should say that it is the same in the bigger cities 🙂 How long are you in Taipei? I have only ever been through the airport, and that is not a great way to see a city! By the way, what was your family doing there when you were living there as a child? Just curious… 🙂 Oh, and I have friends who live in Taipei. I love seeing her pictures of the city – they live not too far from Taipei 101. Amazing!

  2. Hi I’ve been reading your blog with interest. Are you still in Taipei? Maybe fabric street is where you should pay a visit. You get good selections and prices, and other supplies too.

  3. So that’s where the boys get it! Did you guys celebrate the 4th at all? J looks like such a big boy carrying all those groceries! They’re in a different country!! Can’t wait to hear all about it.

  4. Pingback: Travel Diaries: Taipei Traffic « Craft Apple

  5. Pingback: Traveler's Pages Community — Blog — Travel Diaries: Taipei Traffic « Craft Apple

  6. Wow, this is really interesting! I am still laughing over the cafe story. I’ve been lurking at your blog for years, and learned a lot about sewing! I love your sense of humor 🙂 Thank you!

Leave a comment