Mod Podging the Least Decorated Room in the House

What’s your least decorated room in the house?  For me, every room has a new coat of paint.  Every room except the laundry room, that is.  The laundry room does more than laundry.  It’s also home to many coats and shoes.  Coats and shoes that will have to move one day because as the boys grow bigger, their bigger shoes aren’t going to fit in there.  It hadn’t occured to me that I might make this space a little cheerier until I met this fabric.

wash-s.jpg

These fabrics are Michael Miller and are called “Mending Madness” and “Tidy Up”.  Cute, huh?  A few months back I Mod Podged some fabric to paper mache letter forms for my sewing room.  I really liked how they turned out.  And these prints are perfect for the laundry room (and other places, too…but one project at a time, folks).

Materials needed:

modpodge1.jpg

  • Mod Podge (I prefer the matte finish because it has fewer fumes than the gloss)
  • Plastic container for mixing the Mod Podge
  • Paintbrush
  • Paper mache letter forms (available at Michael’s or JoAnn’s)
  • Cotton fabric
  • Scissors that you don’t mind getting sticky
  • Newspaper to cover your work surface

1) Lay your newspaper over your work area.

2) Mix the ModPodge in your container with water 1:1.  Mix it up with your paintbrush.

3) Determine which fabrics will go on what letter and cut pieces of fabric large enough to cover the front of the letter.  Be generous here, making adjustments for centering a design on the fabric, etc.

washs.jpg

I positioned the words along the long line of the S.

4) Brush the front of the letter with ModPodge.

5) Lay your fabric on top of the letter.

6) Snip the fabric around the edges, making sure the fabric doesn’t slip around while you’re snipping.  The end result will be that the fabric is the exact same shape as the letter top.  If there are dry spots of fabric, brush the top of the fabric with ModPodge using your paintbrush.

7) Measure the depth of the letters and cut strips of fabric in this width (mine were 1-inch deep).  Soak the strips in Mod Podge, squeeze a little bit out between your fingers so that it isn’t drenched, and stick them around the edges of the letters.

8)  When the letter forms are completely covered on the front and side, the let them air dry on the edge of your plastic container.  They seem to stick too much to anything else.

9)Take a few moments to pick the dried Mod Podge off of your pudgy hand (who knew the camera added 10 pounds to each finger?).   This is my favorite part – I’m a big picker.  🙂  Look at that pinky!

modpodge2.jpg

The 4 of these letters took me about 2 hours from start to finish.  Please note that this includes clean up time and about 15 minutes of picking-glue-off-the-fingers time (oh it’s so addicting).

washh.jpg

And I hung the letters with 3M Command Picture Hanging Strips.  They let me reposition my letters and can be removed without damaging walls.

49 thoughts on “Mod Podging the Least Decorated Room in the House

  1. Thanks so much for the sweet comment on my new blog. I love your letters. Such a great idea. Sadly my laundry room is out in my garage!
    I love the way the “h” has the little shirt right in the center. Too cute!

  2. That fabric is so great, I love the letters! Our laundry room is a dark red color so the fabric probably wouldn’t match, I have a window in there that needs a curtain though, hmmm….

  3. Such a cute idea.I love it. I used to be so creative and decorated every nook. I am way to busy now. But you inspire. Me. I am doing this challenge fit4life. I think I might add fixing up the house again as one of my goals. Thanks for the inspiration.

  4. Your letters are so cute! I had to laugh at the camera adding 10 pounds to each finger! Your hand does NOT look pudgy, but I’m always wondering how many pounds the camera has added to my pictures.

  5. How cute is that! what a perfect use for your fabric.

    I appreciate the tutorial as I can just see some of these letters hanging in my classroom!

    Great idea!

  6. Very cute! While I don’t have a laundry room-mine’s in the basement-I see many possibilities for my boys’ rooms. Thanks for the great ideas!

  7. What a great idea. It was inspiring when I saw it in your sewing room post, and I love it even more in the laundry room. Ever since I saw your sewing room post, I have planned on doing this in my daughter’s play room, with the word PLAY…it’s still on my to do list. 🙂

  8. THis is super cute–LOVE the fabric! I’m definitely adding this to my growing collection of projects to do. At the rate I’m going, I’ll be getting to my laundry room sometime next year!

  9. Another winner of an idea! This is too much fun – I stenciled a laundry line of clothes on the wall in my laundry room but I like this idea much better 🙂

  10. Love it, Linda! I painted my laundry room the most bright cheery green I could find, and have just been looking for good accent fabric for curtains. Where did you find yours?

  11. Those are so cute! I mean seriously CUTE! My laundry is in the garage, hate that, and it has zero decorating unless you count a few cobwebs I battle with!

  12. Those fabrics are perfect. I’ve modgepodged letters before – usually MDF to give as gifts. But I never actually considered decorating my laundry. Isn’t that sad? I spend a fair amount of time in there, but it was the dullest room in the house. In our new house, we no longer have a laundry – just a closet with a stacked set. Next time.

  13. What a cute idea, Linda! And I had to laugh about the picker part. Do you pick your toes when/if they peel? I find that kind of hard not to do, although I at least don’t do it around anyone else. Sorry if that’s TMI. Hee. =)

  14. What a cute idea! My laundry has been painted and I bought really cool retro polka dot decals to put on the wall. However, since then, we have found out we’ll probably be moving this winter. I want to do something to make it look more finished, but didn’t think the decals would suit everyone. Yours is the perfect solution, especially with those great command hooks. Plus I love the smell of ModPodge. I remember ModPodging a giant US map to put on my dad’s office wall when I was a kid.

  15. That’s brilliant! I have seen those letters at JoAnn’s and haven’t known what to do with them … now I feel like I should run out right now and get some before they’re all gone.

  16. I love this idea! I can just see my girls wanting these for their bedrooms. I’ll have to show your site to them tonight!

    You have a great site here… lots of wonderful ideas. I’ve added you to my easycrafts4fun.com blogroll and would love to be added to yours…

    Bev

  17. this is such a cool idea and I love the fabrics! I wanted to try upholstering walls, and I did it in my laundry room because I figured if it looked bad, no one would have to look at it except me! I hot glued buttons in red and pink, and glued clothespins that I had painted in coordinating colors. It’s fun to try new things in our little spaces!

  18. Pingback: Top Posts « WordPress.com

  19. Pingback: Sew Whimsy and More… « THE DOMESTIC DIVA’S DISASTERS™

  20. Pingback: Sew,Mama,Sew! Blog » » Spring Clean your Sewing Room

  21. Pingback: Home Improvement Guru » Blog Archive » Adding Artistic Inspiration to Your Kitchen Cabinet Design

  22. Good Morning and hope there is no snow on the ground!
    I am Ben Fromme’s older sister, who lives below you in Huntsville AL…
    I just love those letters .. are they for sale???

    Love your creativity (hope I spelled that right)

    Best Regards

    T A M I :O)

  23. Excellent website. A lot of helpful information here.
    I am sending it to several friends ans additionally sharing in delicious.
    And certainly, thank you to your sweat!

Leave a comment