A Letter

To the Lady I Saw Wearing the Quilted Outfit at the International Quilt Festival In 2000,

I admit that when I first saw you, I thought your outfit was a bit weird.  I’d seen quilts on walls and on beds, but on clothing?  Not in my experience.  So to see quilted clothing bewildered me.  When I went to Festival 7 years ago, I think I had 4 quilts under my belt.  I definitely had the quilting bug, but hadn’t discovered quilt shops or tasted much creativity.  Seeing all the fantastic quilts at Festival was overwhelming to say the least.  Until then, I hadn’t even heard of free-motion quilting.  Jump forward to 2007:  I’ve been sewing like a maniac for about 2 years now, right after my sister mentioned Amy Butler to me which led me to find my local quilt shop.  It’s now my favorite store where I can carefully select which fabrics to take home with me.  More recently, I’ve begun imagining not just what stuff I can make, but how I can wear my fabrics, draping myself in these beautiful prints.

So, Lady in the Quilted Pants and Jacket, I get it now.  I may never quilt up a pair of pants, but I understand why you would want to.  And I’m sorry for my silent judgement.  Little did I know that in a few short years I’d be in a much different place – closer to where you were way back then, even if my latest project will only be worn under a jacket because it looks like a clown shirt.

God bless,

Linda

clown-shirt.jpg

26 thoughts on “A Letter

  1. lol you crack me up! Can’t see myself in a pair of quilted pants either but hey who knows what we’ll all be wearing 10 or 15 years from now. That does not look like a clown shirt and it’s too nice to be buried under a jacket. Looks great with the jeans.

  2. You are so silly! That shirt is adorable. If you didn’t live in Texas you might see why she made quilted pants. At 20 something this morning I might even consider them. Oh, wait I don’t wear pants. Maybe a quilted skirt!

  3. Such a sweet letter and who would have thunk it that you would join her secret club. 😉 I love that top and don’t think you should bury it under a jacket, rock it with some jeans and boots and a nice cowboy hat! 🙂

  4. Your shirt looks nothing like a clown shirt, I adore it. Your note brought such a smile, oh for the days when I didn’t think I needed to wear what I made…monster bags and Victorian day coats, I’m millimeters from quilted clothing…although, not quilted pants, my hips need no help in the padding department! 🙂

  5. I can so relate. I always thought quilted garments were just a little too whimsical for my taste, but several years ago Janome ran an ad in sewing magazines for its new line of quilting machines. In the ad stood a bridal party, and the bride’s gown was a beautifully quilted masterpiece. I don’t think the point of the ad was to get you to seriously consider quilting your next wedding dress, but it did a good job of getting me to see the endless possibilities of quilting.

  6. I love it!! I don’t think it looks clownish at all!! It’s really funny how perspectives change. It all good though. Makes us more interesting, don’t you think?

  7. Ha! I had a pair of quilted pants when I was in kindergarten. Bell-bottoms. Who knew how stylish I was?

    I like the top, it’s not clownish at all. And I like your pose. Very magazine model-ish!

  8. Hi Linda,

    I received your wonderful gift. I loved each thing…so fun and cute, and full of personality. Thank you for your thoughtfulness. I have a little something that I want to send your way next week.
    Elaine / TinkerVerve

  9. This is so funny! I was recently at my mom’s going through all her 1970’s and 80’s craft magazines and books and came across this totally earthy pattern for a quilted jacket and (gasp) I considered taking it home to make for myself. I mean, with the right fabric it could look good…a little Amy Butler, Heather Bailey, Denise Schmidt…but then I stopped myself! I did, however,put the pattern in the save pile. I think we should just start a new trend – make your quilted jackets and wear them with pride!! ha ha! BTW, I love your shirt!

  10. 1. Clown shirt? I think not. I’d show you my picnic tablecloth skirt, but I gave it to Goodwill years ago and some other poor, clueless woman is now looking like she needs salt and pepper shakers tied to her hem.

    2. Quilted clothing – just a wee bit too matronly for my taste, but I do love using some quilting fabrics for wearables. I just don’t think most of us look that great with Churn-Dash quilt blocks over our bosoms.

    3. I was in your favorite fabric store the other day and saw the display of your goods. VERY impressive!! Amy Butler better watch her back… 🙂

  11. Precious! I LOOOOOOOOOOOOVE your writing and the personality behind it. You crack me up! Personally I love beautiful fabric so much I try to use it everywhere, too! I can’t believe I haven’t started using it as TP. But there are just some places beautiful fabric shouldn’t be. I say that pants are right up there with toilet paper. However, while you wouldn’t wear that shirt…I’d say that you’ve pretty much mastered the craft of sewing. You inspire me!

    Erin

  12. For most up-to-date news you have to pay a quick visit web
    and on internet I found this web site as a best website for most up-to-date updates.

Leave a comment