Small Books.

My latest pattern is called Small Books. It includes the Little Artist Drawing Case, Quilted Brag Book, and Mini Patchfolio. 

Little Artist Drawing Case

As my kids used their Little Artist Drawing Cases that I made earlier this year, a design flaw became apparent:  the crayons fell out when they turned their cases upside down.  Not good, especially at the germy doctor’s office where they have to crawl under chairs to pick them up.  I’ve added a crayon flap to remedy this.  The above fabric is clearanced ($5 for 2, folks!) PBTeen pillowcases.

Quilted Brag Book

I was having trouble with the Quilted Brag Book initially because I was using soft vinyl (the kind on a roll) for the photo pockets.  The vinyl was giving me problems because it kept sticking to the pictures and making funky-looking sticky spots.  Then I discovered vinyl plastic sheets (also seen here).  It’s perfect  for this project.  Although it wasn’t  created for this use, it’s sewable, durable and doesn’t stick to the pictures.  Fabric is the last of my pink Joel Dewberry.

Mini Patchfolio

And while the above Mini Patchfolio photo might look a bit familar.  I just want to point out to the more discriminating that I used a nicer pen.  :o)

This baby is a 16-page booklet with 8 pattern sheets – my largest pattern ever, weighing in at 5 ounces.

Huge, HUGE thanks to Melanie for sewing through these patterns for me.  She has a great eye for details and caught things I didn’t notice.  And also to Cindy for sewing through the Mini Patchfolio with me late into the night last month.  I couldn’t do it without you guys!

It’s available in the shop.

29 thoughts on “Small Books.

  1. Hooray! I missed this the first time around. Since there’s no way in the world I’d finish them in time for Christmas, these will be my end of the year teacher gifts. Thanks for publishing the patterns.

  2. Yay! I’ve been waiting since your last release of the mini patchfolio! And you are early too! I was expecting it to be released at the end of December. Thanks!!!

  3. Sew fun! That’s what I say. I am very glad I could help. You’re terrific. As soon as I got your email I had to go and change my blog so that anyone who may visit via your website won’t think I’m crazy. (Shh…don’t tell them that I really am a little crazy…it’ll be our secret!)

  4. Great solution to the crayons-falling-out problem! When we discovered that problem using ours, I initially thought about adding elastic to the crayon holders … but I never tried it. Your idea is much simpler and easier to use for little hands 🙂

  5. Okay, I just ordered one. I hope I can figure it out! I usually open a pattern and try to find a video on you tube because I am so dependent that way!! I hope to receive it soon and make some great Christmas gifts! Thank you so much for making this!

  6. Love this pattern! New granddaughter born yesterday and guess who needs a brag book! Can’t wait to make these things, they are great!

  7. What an adorable little set! So glad I found you . . . . you are an inspiration! I have been writing eBook patterns for YouCanMakeThis.com for children’s clothing, but she is always looking for more ideas for patterns. Check it out if you have time. I am also writing a book proposal for Threads magazine, so I am excited to hear that your submission was accepted to Fiber & Stitch. I’ll go check it out! Congratulations! Nina

  8. Looks fabulous! Those pillowcases are quite a steal! I found some on the site that I wanted to order but the shipping was going to be so costly I forced myself to back away from the computer. 🙂

  9. I bought the mini patchfolio alone and I love it! I’ve made 4 for Christmas gifts. My heart sunk when I saw you weren’t offering just the brag book, so I ordered the Fibre and Stich issue and whipped up 7 of them over the weekend. Thanks so much for the great patterns!

  10. I don’t know why, but I can never see the pics on your blog anymore. All I get is little red X’s. I could see the picture of the craft show you attended, but that’s it.
    I miss all of the inspiration!

  11. I have to say this is one great pattern. I ordered it the minute I saw that it was for sale and now I have to comment on the super fast shipping…I mean the thing got here what seemed like over night. This pattern is well written and I recommend it to all of you ladies out there who admire Linda’s creations.

  12. Linda I love this pattern, my first from you and I know there will be more. I am having a blast, posted a couple on flickr. Such quick delivery I was amazed and the directions are so well done!

  13. LOve the new design–smart, smart! And what a lovely logo–very cool that you incorporated some personal elements into it. Good luck with the new patterns and congrats on being published!

  14. Pingback: looking ahead « Trying Traditional

Leave a comment