Sewing Tip – Saving Time When Quilting Small Pieces

I love to quilt, but it’s a rare event that I actually make a whole quilt complete with binding.  Rather, I like making quilted stuff:  Things that involve quilting that I can incorporate into an item, like a purse, or a Patchfolio.  Small panels are SO much easier to quilt – no sweating or tachycardia involved.

I only JUST discovered that I can save a lot of time by quilting several panels at the same time.  I’ve done up to 3 Mini Patchfolio covers at the same time.  Less turning around time = less overall quilting time.  This works great, especially if you are just quilting with straight lines.

quilted panels

 

 

I laid the panels out on the batting, then pinned them in place. Then, I cut the batting slightly larger than the pieces and started quilting. When I was sewing across the length of the panels, I just kept sewing over the batting until I was sewing up onto the other panel.

quilted panels close up

 

I use Warm ‘n Natural batting for all my quilting projects. I’m not sure if this method would work if you were using thin polyester batting because it isn’t as dense.

28 Responses to “Sewing Tip – Saving Time When Quilting Small Pieces”


  1. 2 Sarah January 21, 2008 at 6:54 pm

    So clever! I wish I’d thought of this when I was doing a million (ok, four) quilted totes for Christmas presents…

  2. 3 Beth January 21, 2008 at 6:55 pm

    That’s a great idea!

  3. 4 stacysews January 21, 2008 at 7:30 pm

    What a great tip! Thanks for sharing it!

  4. 5 Tamara January 21, 2008 at 7:37 pm

    That is an awesome idea. What a timesaver!

  5. 6 Debbie January 21, 2008 at 9:04 pm

    Thanks for sharing a super idea.

    Beautiful fabric combinations you have. They will be lovely finished projects!

  6. 7 Cheryl January 21, 2008 at 9:26 pm

    This is very clever. Thank you for sharing the idea. I bought the pattern a few months ago and am hoping to actually make a couple this week. I just may use this clever idea you shared.

  7. 8 Elizabeth K January 21, 2008 at 10:04 pm

    That is just about the smartest thing ever! Now can you help me get over my fear of actually quilting my first quilt?

  8. 9 Stacy T January 21, 2008 at 11:25 pm

    Love the quilting/fabrics you are using in the pics!! :D

    Such a time saver too!

  9. 10 Fiona (Dragonfly-Crafts) January 22, 2008 at 5:37 am

    Love the idea, thanks for sharing as usual. I must try some quilting of small items too.

  10. 11 thedomesticdiva January 22, 2008 at 8:15 am

    now that makes sense…LOL! Think I’ll try that!

    Thanks for the tip!

    With friendship,
    Lisa

  11. 12 Emily January 22, 2008 at 11:45 am

    I just wanted to drop you a line and let you know that I’ve added Craft Apple to my list of kindred spirit blogs at http://curlytopbop.blogspot.com/.

    Thanks for all the inspiration!

    Emily

  12. 13 Shannon January 22, 2008 at 11:46 am

    Beautiful fabrics love them:)

  13. 14 Pieces January 22, 2008 at 12:46 pm

    Excellent idea! I love tips like this that save time and thread and turning, etc.

  14. 15 karen January 22, 2008 at 1:14 pm

    I am in love with those fabrics.

  15. 16 Florence January 22, 2008 at 2:14 pm

    Fantastic idea and beautiful fabrics to drool over!

  16. 17 Melanie January 22, 2008 at 2:58 pm

    I wish I had thought of this at Christmas time :-)

  17. 18 Marisa January 22, 2008 at 3:09 pm

    That is an excellent idea! Thanks so much for sharing.

  18. 19 Melissa January 22, 2008 at 4:24 pm

    Thanks so much for the tip, it will be very helpful in the future, i’m sure! Beautiful quilt as well, i like the color pattern.

  19. 20 glitznvixen January 22, 2008 at 6:21 pm

    What a great tip!!

  20. 21 cindy January 22, 2008 at 7:25 pm

    Wow, what a great idea! And your pictures are so lovely and bright.

  21. 23 mandy January 23, 2008 at 11:46 pm

    This is such a great tip! Too bad I didn’t think of it before all of the quilting sessions I’ve gone through. I’m so excited to quilt something now!

  22. 24 mysewcalledlife January 27, 2008 at 8:52 pm

    I love your blog! It was actually one of the first blogs I started reading. I was tagged by Cookie to play a game and answer questions. I was asked to choose four people and tag them. I have chosen you as one of my four. If you would like to play, please go to my blog and pick up the questions, then post your answers on your blog and tag four more people. Love your blog~keep up the great work.
    Jacquie
    http://www.mysewcalledlife.wordpress.com

  23. 25 Alison April 17, 2008 at 5:03 am

    Marvellous tip – thank you!

  24. 26 Dorothy September 26, 2009 at 10:26 pm

    Why did I not think of that…so simple and quick.

  25. 27 Carolyn Southurst May 16, 2011 at 7:20 am

    LOve this site , I would love to be able to quilt, but I will start with one of your easier projects :The Chenille backed Blanket:
    Hello to everyone!! I am in Australia, visited the states 2 yrs ago , we drove across from LA to PA and saw so much of your beautiful country, everyone was so nice to us. We are coming back after our daughters wedding in September..soooo looking forward to that!!


  1. 1 Quilted Toolbelts « Craft Apple Trackback on January 28, 2008 at 2:39 am

Leave a Reply

Craft Apple

An apple a day keeps the doctor away, right? Well, crafting is my apple. It's what I do to maintain my sanity while taking care of my family. I homeschool my three boys, ages 10, 11, and 12), am a quilter, a bagaholic, and a pattern designer.
© 2006-2014 Craft Apple Creations

Archives

CraftApple Patterns Flickr Group

Date Night Handbag

Date Night Handbag

Date Night Handbag & Carryall

More Photos

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 406 other followers