Favorite Things: Misty Fuse & Stitch Witchery

With every pattern, I learn something new.  With the quilt pattern I’m currently working on, I discovered Mistyfuse™!  I’ve read about it here and there, but never understood the need until Kathy explained it to me.  Fusible webbing fuses fabric to fabric, and there are 2 kinds I’ve found:  Mistyfuse™ and Stitch Witchery®.  Mistyfuse is $3/yard and Stitch Witchery is $1/yard.  So I set out to figure out the difference.  ***Update: as of 2015, Stitch Witchery® is now over $2/yard***

Misty fuse & Stitch WitcheryMisty Fuse on the left , Stitch Witchery on the right.

At first glance, they look quite similar, but there one important difference – Mistyfuse is thinner and feels like just-out-of-the-dryer fabric.  Stitch Witchery is stiff like thin paper.

 Here they are close up – can you see the difference?  The first pic is Mistyfuse.

Misty Fuse

Have you ever wondered why it’s called webbing?  It looks like a spider’s web of glue.

Stitch Witchery

After fusing fabric to the top of my quilt, I could quilt through both equally well, but the finished applique with the Stitch Witchery was stiffer than the Mistyfuse.  With Mistyfuse, the applique felt soft – I could barely tell it was there.

I would still use Stitch Witchery where the stiffness factor won’t matter – like on the front of a Little Artist Drawing Case, but for appliqueing a quilt, Mistyfuse is one of my favorite things.  I like it so much that I plan to kit it with my pattern.  For now it’s in my shop here.

19 thoughts on “Favorite Things: Misty Fuse & Stitch Witchery

  1. I used the stitch witchery to make some shirts for toddler friends for Christmas this year. It was SO EASY to use! I have a ton of it here, but I’ll keep my eye out for mistyfuse next time.

    I posted one of the shirts on my blog, and the other three will be up soon.

  2. We always called it stitchery witchery – is that weird or normal? Anyway, what made you decide to seek something else out? And what about heat-n-bond light – just for appliques like on the drawing case?

    • Misty fuse is like there is nothing between the fabric layers! Heat and bond leaves a stiffness that doesn’t allow a piece to move with the rest of the piece. I love misty fuse and will gladly pay the difference .

  3. Pingback: Fusible webs head to head · Needlework News @ CraftGossip

  4. Could I use either MistyFuse or Stitch Witcher on fabric that I fuse to paper, and then feed through my printer? I want to print on my hand-dyed fabrics, not purchased fabric paper.

  5. I did a little research on this at the request of a customer. I found a great book with some very handy charts, among them one for fusibles. Look for APPLIQUE WORKSHOP by Laurel Anderson, published in 2010.

    Buy the book to see the rest of the very valuable information in the fusible chart, but this much of it answers the questions stated here. Additional chart info includes whether you have to reverse the pattern, whether to draw your outline on the fusible or the fabric, the heat setting, and how long to apply the heat.

    There is also a great chart for the various methods of applique. Look for the book. I have lots of them, and this is one of the very best I’ve seen on the topic.

    Prooduct Softness Ranking 1=Soft
    ==================================
    MistyFuse 1
    Wonder Under 2
    Steam-A-Seam 2 3
    Heat-N-Bond Lite 4
    606 Spray and Fix 4
    Stitch Witchery 5
    Bo-Nash Bonding Agent 5

    • you can paint it, use it for crafts, its fuses on cloth, wood, or any porous surface. you can use it to decorate book albums etc.

  6. Question about Misty Fuse before I buy it on sale at Amazon. No one in Knoxville carries it. My friend pulled me away from their booth in Cincinnati. =P I’ve always used a paper-backed fusible (Aleene’s which was the softest thing in the world and now isn’t made) so I wondered how this works with no paper backing to protect one side while you iron the other. Do you HAVE to have the parchment paper then? Thanks

    dezertsuz at gmail

    • I have used the Goddess sheet that is made by the same company, parchment paper, and Silicone release paper. I LOVE the silicone release paper and it is reusable many times. I recently made church banners from several different fabrics, from satin to metallic. The Mistyfuse used with the silicone release paper allowed me to use whatever iron setting was needed for the fabrics and still held, and the drape of the fabric was just like there was nothing fusing them at all…I love this stuff!

      • Thank you! I think you are talking about our new nonstick paper—Bunny Paper! Just coming onto the market now. We introduced it at the 2015 International Quilt Festival in Houston early this month. I’m so happy you like it! We’re very proud of it and think it will be a huge help to many fusers!
        It will be on our website soon: Mistyfuse.com

  7. I’m sorry, I haven’t used Bunny paper before. I think the best thing to do would just to be to try it and see if the print transfers. I have a lot of Heat ‘n Bond also. There are some things that I prefer to use it for.

Leave a comment