What’s in a name?

Recently all Linens-N-Things stores closed down.  There was one near my house, right next to Michael’s.  Here it is now:

 shop for lease

 I didn’t shop there much, but now that it’s vacant, I’m thinking a nice fabric store would fit perfectly there.  Maybe a JoAnn’s, or even better, a gigantic quilt shop.  And to encourage whoever might be wanting to set up shop there, imagine your name on the building like this: wouldn't it look nice like this?

 

I really don’t  want a brick and mortar store – but  isn’t photoshop fun?

On another note, have you ever googled your blog name?  I mean, when I was trying to come up with a blog name forever ago, I never thought to check if the words “Craft” and “Apple” were put together anywhere.  Well, recently, I looked and you know what I found out?  There’s a company called Craft Apple Works.  Cute, huh?  What must they make, you ask?  Something craft related?  Certainly something happy, like an apple.  But no.  It’s not sweet or cute or remotely sewing related.  Get this – the company manufactures guns.  Guns! And grenade launchers.     *sigh*

14 thoughts on “What’s in a name?

  1. Your name does that building justice…you should think of a quilt store…LOL. I think I just might google my name…don’t know. Mau was given to me about 20yrs. ago by my daughter cause every time the cat was in heat she would come to me and cry “MAU” so I got the name…LOL.

  2. I wish I had googled my choice for a blog name before I made my blog. It’s almost the same as yours – my inspiration was the story of the Garden of Eden and the false idea that Eve ate an apple and the true idea that the serpent was crafty.

  3. That’s funny, because one of the first things I did when I wanted to start a blog was to google the names I was thinking of to see what comes up. I’m happy to say that I’m pretty much it for amy a la mode!

  4. Oh, how funny! That looks great. And guns… wow. Really bad branding. What in the world does craft, apple, or works have to do with guns? 🙂 Ah well, a quilt store… that would be neat!

  5. What a great idea…not the gun part…but opening a fabric store in the old Linens shops…we have one near me that would be perfect! And since there are no fabric stores near me..maybe I’ll send an email or two!

  6. That is beautiful – Wow! it gives me goosebumps and it also started out my morning with a great laugh – your creativity just doesn’t run out! That would have been a perfect post for April Fools! Have a lovely day, Linda!

Leave a comment