Sewing with my own fabric & a Tutorial!

Tutorial: Creating A  Repeat Design in Photoshop here.

After my Spoonflower post I got into a conversation with a commenter about creating a repeat design for fabric printing.  Although I’m not super experienced, I’ve used Photoshop for creating repeats for printing backgrounds on my pattern covers.  So I wrote a tutorial.  It is LONG.  Long and hearty with 30 plus screenshots.  So long that it’s getting it’s own page here.

As for the Spoonflower fabric?  I finally got up the guts to cut into it.  When fabric costs $16.50/yard plus shipping, you think twice before cutting and you think about how sparingly it can be used.  I made a drawing case, adapted from my pattern to include a magnetic snap closure.
Sketchy drawing case

I paired it with some wool felt which I’ve always had a crush on but never dared to use.  It adds a nice sturdy feel to the project, but I had to forgo some topstitching because it was too thick.

sketchy drawing case2

Sewing with fabric that I designed myself definitely adds a nice layer of fun to the creative process.

8 Responses to “Sewing with my own fabric & a Tutorial!”


  1. 1 Marlene March 14, 2012 at 4:29 pm

    absolutely fabulous!!!!!!!!!!!

  2. 3 Leah March 14, 2012 at 11:23 pm

    It looks wonderful! You know, in Australia, quilting fabric retails in an actual quilt shop at around $22/ metre. Maybe I should spoonflower some myself, and use with abandon!

    • 4 craftapple March 15, 2012 at 10:48 am

      Wow – I know you pay a lot in Australia, but I never considered that printing your own could be cheaper. I say design and print with abandon! And enjoy the “cheap” fabric! 🙂

  3. 5 Andrea March 17, 2012 at 1:01 pm

    Lovely make with your own fabric. I did mange to start following your tutorial at work on Friday but I had to use a Mac so I will have to leave it until Monday to do any more.
    Still think that this design is such a cute design.

  4. 6 Laura March 19, 2012 at 6:15 pm

    I love your fabric!!! The design is wonderful!! And I like the drawing case!!
    …thank you for the tutorial for Photoshop, too! I’ll try it!
    Laura

  5. 7 Susan April 29, 2012 at 7:55 pm

    I love the way that looks. Love working with wool. Don’t have photoshop, so I probably won’t make my own fabric, but this is a cute idea.

  6. 8 Tina G (@crimsonbruin) November 16, 2012 at 9:47 pm

    Yay! Of course I am super late but I am happy to see what you’ve done with that cute, cute fabric!🙂


Leave a Reply

Craft Apple

An apple a day keeps the doctor away, right? Well, crafting is my apple. It's what I do to maintain my sanity while taking care of my family. I homeschool my three boys, ages 12, 13, and 14), am a quilter, a bagaholic, and a pattern designer.
© 2006-2015 Craft Apple Creations

Archives