Cushions!

We’re putting our house on the market.  Yes we are.

Everywhere I look I am seeing my house through the eyes of a potential buyer.  I’m imagining what the online listing shots are going to look like and it is scary.

The photographer will be here next week so the handyman has been working on his list and I’m working on mine.

I made our last couch cushions 4 years ago.  They were gigantic, but comfy.  Now, one belongs to the dog and one has holes in it (probably from our dog’s puppy days).  It’s time for some new cute cushions!

cushions5

I love this jacquard.  The color is perfect for adding a splash to the green and blue color scheme.  The funny thing is I intended the ribbon to be on the back, covering an unmatching zipper, but when it was all said and done, I liked the ribbon side better than the plain side.

cushions3

Just noticed my little guy has an ant bite on his hand.  Ouch!

After I finished the cream and orange cushions, I decided a little blue was in order to tie it all together.

cushions1

See how the blue brings out the blue dots on the cream cushions?

cushions6

Now I’m hoping the photographer can work his magic on our home and make it look beautiful!

Shopping info:

* The cream and orange jacquard is from Pottery Barn.  If you click through you’ll see that it’s a whopping $50/yard.  But through some smarty pants buying, I was able to get it for considerably less.  When we purchased some furniture a few years ago I signed up for a PB credit card.  After that, I started getting $25 off coupons every few months.  I purchased my first yard with the coupon.  Then, at some point I had earned enough points for a $100 gift voucher.  I ordered 2 more yards.  With free shipping, the last 2 yards were free except for tax.  Yay!

* The blue jacquard is from Home Fabrics and Rugs.  This is such a fun store to go to and has the best deals on retail pillow forms around.  It’s kind of  a no-frills decorator’s dream.  Fabric is reasonable and although I’m not much of a rug buyer, the rugs are a good deal too.  There are just a handful of them around the country.   If there’s one near you, it’s a fun place to look for decorator and upholstery weight fabric.

Hope my US friends had a great holiday.  I’m enjoying mine!  Happy Thanksgiving!

6 thoughts on “Cushions!

  1. Lovely! Good luck with the sale!

    It would take a lot more than a few cushions to make my place look good. We’ve got about 3 rooms that we plan on painting in the next few weeks, but I keep looking at the trail of destruction that my kids leave behind and wondering if I shouldn’t just admit defeat – and wait until the kids leave home to work on the place…

    (I had the best Thanksgiving: didn’t have to cook or entertain, but still came home with the leftover apple pie…)

Leave a comment